

ALUMNI RECOGNITION CEREMONY & REUNION CONCERT

A celebration to recognise the Sydney Conservatorium of Music's pre-1990 alumni as part of the University of Sydney family

Great Hall, The University of Sydney & Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Thursday, 18 February 2010 at 2.30pm

Chancellor, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO presiding



ALUMNI RECOGNITION CEREMONY

Great Hall, The University of Sydney

Organ Recital by University Organist, Amy Johansen

The academic procession enters the Great Hall, the assembly standing March from the *Occasional Oratorio* – GF Handel

Introduction by Professor Kim Walker, Dean & Principal, Sydney Conservatorium of Music

The proceedings are opened by the Chancellor, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO

Alumni Recognition Ceremony

Address by Dr Michael Spence, Vice-Chancellor & Principal, The University of Sydney

The Alumni Award for Professional Achievement awarded to Paul Dyer

Address by Paul Dyer

The academic procession retires, the assembly standing Toccata from the *Fifth Organ Symphony* – CM Widor

Closing remarks by Professor Kim Walker, Dean & Principal, Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Carillon Recital by University Carillonist, Dr Jill Forrest

Refreshments will be served in the Quadrangle

REUNION CONCERT & CHAMPAGNE RECEPTION

Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Macquarie St, Sydney

Reunion Concert

5.00pm-5.30pm

Greenway String Quartet Joseph Haydn String Quartet No.3 in G minor, Op.74 I. Allegro IV. Allegro con brio

Rising Star from the SCM Open Academy Alison Laurens (14) Johannes Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 5

Jazz Duo: Judy Bailey and Craig Scott

Champagne Reception

5.30pm-6.30pm

PAUL DYER (DipMusEd '81 BMus '83)

Alumni Award Recipient & Guest Speaker



Paul studied at the NSW State Conservatorium of Music, achieving a Diploma of Music Education 1981 and Bachelor of Music 1983.

Paul is one of Australia's leading specialists in period performance practice and founded the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra in 1990 as a natural outcome of his experience as a performer and teacher of baroque and classical music. After postgraduate studies in solo performance with Bob van Asperen at the Royal Conservatorium in The Hague, Paul studied ensemble direction and orchestral studies with Sigiswald Kuijken and Frans Brüggen.

Paul has performed with many prominent soloists including Andreas Scholl, Eilzabeth Wallfisch, Andreas Staier, Marc Destrubé, Hidemi Suzuki, Andrew Manze, Yvonne Kenny and Emma Kirkby. In 1998 Paul made his debut in Tokyo and in August 2001 he toured the Orchestra to Europe with guest soloist Andreas Scholl, appearing in Vienna, France, Germany and London.

In 1995 he received a Churchill Fellowship and he has won numerous awards for his CD recordings with the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, including the 1998, 2001, 2005 and 2009 ARIA Awards for Best Classical Recording. Paul is the presenter of the Inflight program Symphony on Qantas International flights and is a Patron of St Gabriel's School for Hearing Impaired Children. In 2003 Paul was awarded the Australian Centenary Medal for his services to Australian society and the advancement of music.

Paul Dyer is recognised with The University of Sydney Alumni Award for Professional Achievement for his advancement of the Australian music industry as a performer, conductor, educator and role model.

CERTIFICATE RECIPIENTS

Glenvss Allen Pamela Clare Archer Keith Asboe Helen Bailey-Cooke Mary Elaine Ball Moira Bee Margaret Berriman Lucy Blomfield **Bill Boldiston Richard Bonynge** Erica Merle Booker Mary Branagan Joan Brettingham-Moore Nada Brissenden Robyn Anne Brookfield Neila Gladys Burton Cheryl Cartwright Maria Elizabeth Cartwright Soei Lan Chang Audrey Clark Paula Clarkstone Anne Marguerite Cooke Janice Olwyn Cooper Leonie Marie Cooper Lilv Jov Cowen Peter Charles Crane Margaret Crawshaw Barbara Crossing Brenda Cumming Audrey Myrtle Cummins Margaret Ann Davidson Patricia Donohoe Robert Dunn Paul Dyer Muriel Eagar Anna Elek Carol Firmstone Yvonne Fischer George Anthony Fitzgerald Anne Fritz Cheryl Gadge Helen Jean Geddes Merle Elaine Gill Terry Greene Donald Leslie Haddon Netta Haining Barbara Adrienne Hale

Ruth Nina Hales Jennifer Broughton Hammond Jennifer Ann Harley Alison Hayward Donald Hazelwood Catherine Patricia Healey Margaret Ruth Hennessy Pamela Herring Eunice Hince William Nalder Holland Louise Heffron Houghton Rosemary Irwin Jennifer James-Mattocks Alan Jenkins Barbara Kearns Rosalinde Anne Kearsley Roslyn May Keech Jennifer Wallace King Esme Kreller Eva Kwok Chu Lai Joy Lalchere Bruce Cassels Lawrence Denise Lawrence Penelope Grace Layton-Caisley Marion Airlie Lewis Elizabeth Lim Russell Littlefair Nola Lyons Enid Ethel Manton-Hall Peter John Matheson Neta Maughan Annette Margaret McGrath Ronald James McRobert Marta Mikes Therese Mills Lorraine Minton Mary Mitchell Patricia Moran **Richard Morphew** Aileen Beryl Morris Marilyn Moulton AnneMarie Murphy Maureen Newell Gillian Robin Newey Barbara O'Brien Patricia O'Carroll Catherine Mary O'Flynn

Lawrence William Orchard Margaret Nancy Orchard Enid Partridge Helen Margaret Perkes Julie Suzanne Phillips-Moore Gwenneth Prvor Valerie Geraldine Quinlan **Beris** Quinn Janice Ann Reid Robyn Anne Reid Laurelle Renof Ruth Pauline Richardson Barbara Jan Roberts Margaret Huthwaite Roe Christopher Ross Patricia Wendy Rovik Kathryn Anne Russell Robyn Saraiinsky Sana Sen Ruth Shane Barbara Sharp Jean Sheehv Hilja Siren Larry Sitsky Sheryl Southwood Ailsa Stacv Catriona Jean Stafford Enid Mary Dean Strong Beverley Anne Swift Alison Terry Moya Therèse Azalea Thomas Valda Thomas Caroline Lorraine Thompson Wendy Evelyn Tierney Elizabeth Todd Margaret Toland Nancy Tuck Marcelle Turton Jennifer Fair Warnock Peter Weiss Jeanette Wilson Rosemary Witcomb Sientje Witton Janet Jade Ching Wu Amy Yuan-Chung Wu

Please note that due to printing deadlines and the late receipt of some RSVPs, not all certificate recipient names are included in this program. Furthermore, the names above include some certificate recipients who are unfortunately unable to join us today.

YOUR SYDNEY ALUMNI COMMUNITY

Alumni Relations Office

Room K6.06, Quadrangle A14 The University of Sydney NSW 2006 Australia **T**: +61 2 9036 9222 **E**: alumni.office@sydney.edu.au sydney.edu.au/alumni

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Friends of The Con Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000 Australia T: +61 2 9351 1382 E: con.friends@sydney.edu.au sydney.edu.au/music

The Alumni Relations Office and the Sydney Conservatorium of Music would like to extend their thanks to the many volunteers from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music who have given their time to assist with this event.